top of page

My Hope


I'd like to share this prayer with you. Although they sound like the words of a resolved, strong woman - I can assure you that is not the case. The Holy Spirit gave me these words to pray during some of my darkest days of infertility. It is a prayer of confession and submission to the Lord. The first line of each stanza is the confession of what I was putting my hope in. Each second line (following "but") is a prayer, asking God to make my heart submit to Him and the truths of His gospel.

My hope is not that I will one day hold a baby who is mine; but that You humbled Yourself to come as a baby so that I can be Yours. (Philippians 2:5-11)

My hope is not in having a healthy body; but in Your broken body on the cross. (Isaiah 53)

My hope is not in being the matriarch of a large, happy family; but that I am adopted by grace into Your family. (Romans 8:12-25)

My hope is not in having life in my womb; but in Your risen body leaving behind the empty tomb. (John 20:1-18)

My hope is not in feeding an infant at my breast; but that You provide manna for my weary soul as I wander through this wilderness. (John 6:30-35)

My hope is not in what I accomplish for You; but in what You accomplished for me on the cross. (John 19:28-30)

My hope is not that I will be blessed with children; but that You give Yourself to the barren and broken. (Matthew 5:1-12 & Isaiah 54:1-8)

What are you putting your hope in? I encourage you to consider the truths in red above and pray that God would soften your heart to truly believe them. Put your hope in the only One who can bear the weight of it!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page