top of page

Adoption Granted!


Well, as you saw yesterday, Lydia turned 6 months old! We love the photos we posted yesterday by Open Image Studio that were taken in our home and at a park in our neighborhood.

Today was also a big day! We were joined by friends and family in downtown Columbus for a court appointment to finalize our adoption of Lydia. Then we went out for a celebratory brunch at The North Market. This evening we went to Lydia's 6 month well check. She weighed 15 punds 12 ounces and was 25.5 inches long. She is sitting up really well, doing lots of babbling, and working on those teeth. She loves grabbing her feet, hugging her stuffed animals and baby dolls, and interacting with Daddy, Mommy, and her other favorite people.

The finalization hearing was a really deep and meaningful experience for me. When the judge asked me if I understood that after today I would be forever responsible for Lydia's physical & emotional care, and that if she ever gets sick I cannot "return" her to the court, I answered, "yes, of course" without hesitation. I will take on any challenge with her, because she is my daughter. Immediately the image of Jesus standing before God at my judgment entered my mind. Not only does Jesus say that he will bear my burdens with me, but that he will actually suffer and die so my burdens, sin, and strife will one day be removed from me altogether. This morning our adoption was finalized when the judge struck the gavel on her desk and said "Adoption granted!". My adoption as a child of God was finalized when God struck Jesus on the cross and Jesus said, "It is finished!"

Join us in praising God for His indescribable gift of grace and for the daughter we get to share it with!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page